Posted on

SL still lonely

I continue to explore Second Life in solitary fashion, wondering if ‘still lonely’ describes others’ experience in this mostly empty place.

The other day I did manage to meet up with a friend, a blue-skinned humanoid. We hung out in a deserted Japanese-themed village.

no room for reflection in SL

When I first looked at this photo, I thought perhaps we had stumbled upon that unheard of object in SL: a mirror. But then I realised that the image in the frame behind my friend was another photograph. It seems there is no room for reflection in SL as yet: the technicalities of capturing mirror images in this virtual universe are presently mind-boggling.

We headed off to explore some new SL destinations, and my companion was attracted by a place which seemed to promise a welcome to those of blue skin. However, she ventured too close to a blue giant who turned out to be a representation of the savage goddess Kali. A click in the wrong place and my friend was laid out on a sacrificial slab.

on a sacrificial slab

Of course, escape from peril is easy to accomplish in SL. Another click and with one bound our heroine was free to explore this creepy place of skulls.

About nodmil

I'm always a cyborg, sometimes an owl.

Leave a Reply

